RSS | FAQ | Sitemap | Deutsch

South African Embassy, Berlin
Tiergartenstr. 18, 10785 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-22073-0
Fax: +49-30-22073-190

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Are there additional requirements for minor children travelling to and from the Republic of South Africa?

Yes. The additional requirements for minor children travelling to and from the Republic of South Africa have been in effect since 1 June 2015 and are aimed at establishing the principle that all minor children require the consent of their parents when traveling into or out of the Republic (see https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Admission_children.doc).

2. When is a yellow fever vaccination certificate required for entry into the Republic of South Africa?

In line with the International Health Regulations, 2005, South Africa requires a valid yellow fever certificate from all citizens and non-citizens over one year of age:

  • travelling from a yellow fever risk country; or
  • having been in transit exceeding 12 hours, through the airport of a country with risk of yellow fever transmission.

(See https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Yellow_fever.doc for further information, including a list of yellow fever risk countries)

Please note that Germany is not yellow fever risk country; therefore, a person travelling from Germany directly to South Africa is NOT required to produce proof of a vaccination against yellow fever for entry into the Republic of South Africa.

3. Can a visa be issued for an internship?

No. The Immigration Act, as amended, makes no provisions for foreigners to undertake internships at companies and organisations in the Republic of South Africa. Therefore, visas may not be issued to such foreigners, including foreign students whose studies prescribe an internship (see https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Internship.doc).

4. Can a visitor’s visa for holiday purposes be extended in the Republic of South Africa?

Yes. The Immigration Act, as amended, makes provisions for an application for a once-off renewal / extension of a visitor’s visa for a further period, which shall not exceed three months – such application must be submitted in person via a VFS office in the Republic of South Africa (see http://www.vfsglobal.com/dha/southafrica) no less than 60 days prior to the expiry of his or her visitor’s visa and if the visa was issued for less than 30 days, not later than 7 working days before the expiry of the visa.

5. Can a visitor’s visa for holiday purposes be changed to another visa type / purpose in the Republic of South Africa?

No. While, the Immigration Act, as amended, makes provisions for a foreigner, who is in the Republic of South Africa, to apply for a change of status or terms and conditions relating to his or her visa, a person who is on a visitor’s visa or medical treatment visa may not change his or her status whilst in the Republic of South Africa, except in exceptional circumstances.

6. What are the customs & importation regulations for the Republic of South Africa?

Updated customs and importation regulations for the Republic of South Africa are available from the Customs Officer at the Embassy of the Republic of South Africa in Brussels (see http://www.southafrica.be/sars.htm).

7. What are the requirements for getting married in the Republic of South Africa?

General information about getting married in the Republic of South Africa is available at https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Marriage_in_SA.doc.

8. Can a cash / repatriation deposit be refunded to an applicant, who departed from the Republic of South Africa before 28 February 2015?

No. Failure to claim a refund by 28 February 2015 by applicants who have already departed from the Republic of South Africa before this date will result in the cash / repatriation deposit forfeited to the State as unclaimed (see http://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Deposit_forfeiture.pdf).

9. Can application fees which were accidentally paid be refunded?

Yes. Application fees which were incorrectly transferred to the bank account of the Embassy in Berlin or Consulate-General in Munich shall be refunded (see https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Refund_incorrect_payments.doc).

10. Can an appeal against a declaration of undesirability be submitted at a South Africa mission abroad?

No. A South Africa mission abroad e.g. the Embassy in Berlin or Consulate-General in Munich, does not have the authority to repeal or adjudicate an appeal against a declaration of undesirability administered to a foreigner on departing the Republic of South Africa. Such an appeal must be lodged directly to the Department of Home Affairs (see www.home-affairs.gov.za/index.php/immigration-services/overstay-appeals).

Important notice

The Consular Section in the Embassy in Berlin

Tiergartenstr. 18
10785 Berlin

Fax Consular Section:
030 22073 202
Email Consular Section:
berlin.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

Residents of Bavaria and Baden-Wurttemberg must lodge applications and pay any applicable fees at the South African Consulate-General in Munich:

Südafrikanisches Generalkonsulat
Sendlinger-Tor-Platz 5
80336 Munich

Fax: 089 231 163 53
Email: munich.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

 
© Copyright by SA Embassy 2017 | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch

RSS | FAQ | Sitemap | English

Südafrikanische Botschaft
Tiergartenstr. 18, 10785 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-22073-0
Fax: +49-30-22073-190

FAQ

Häufig gestellte Fragen

1. Gibt es zusätzliche Bestimmungen für minderjährige Kinder, die in die und aus der Republik Südafrika reisen?
Ja. Die zusätzlichen Bestimmungen für minderjährige Kinder, die in die und aus der Republik Südafrika reisen, sind seit dem 1. Juni 2015 in Kraft und dazu bestimmt sicherzustellen, dass alle minderjährige Kinder die Einverständnis ihrer Eltern für die Reise in die oder aus der Republik Südafrika haben (siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Admission_children.doc).

2. Wann ist eine Gelbfieber-Impfbescheinigung für die Einreise in die Republik Südafrika erforderlich?
Gemäß der International Health Regulations, 2005, ist eine gültige Gelbfieber-Impfbescheinigung für die Einreise in die Republik Südafrika von allen südafrikanischen und ausländischen Staatsbürgern, die älter als ein Jahr sind erforderlich, wenn diese:

  • aus einem Gelbfieberendemiegebiet (yellow fever risk country) reisen; oder
  • im Transit von mehr als 12 Stunden, durch den Flughafen eines Gelbfieberendemiegebiet waren.

(siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Yellow_fever.doc für weitere Informationen, einschließlich einer Liste von Gelbfieberendemiegebieten)
Bitte beachten Sie, dass Deutschland kein Gelbfieberendemiegebiet ist; daher benötigt eine Person, die aus Deutschland direkt nach Südafrika reist, keine gültige Gelbfieber-Impfbescheinigung für die Einreise in die Republik Südafrika.

3. Kann ein Visum für ein Praktikum ausgestellt werden?
Nein. Das ‚Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), as amended‘ erlaubt ausländischen Staatsbürger nicht, Praktika bei Unternehmen und Organisationen in der Republik Südafrika zu absolvieren. Daher können keine Visa für solche ausländische Staatsbürger, einschließlich ausländischer Studenten, deren Studien ein Praktikum vorschreiben, ausgestellt werden (siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Internship.doc).

4. Kann ein Besuchervisum für Urlaubszwecke in der Republik Südafrika verlängert werden?
Ja. Laut ‚Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), as amended‘ kann ein Antrag auf eine einmalige Verlängerung eines Besuchervisums für einen weiteren Zeitraum von nicht länger als drei Monaten gestellt werden – ein solcher Antrag muss persönlich über ein VFS-Büro  in der Republik Südafrika (siehe http://www.vfsglobal.com/dha/southafrica) spätestens 60 Tage vor Ablauf des Besuchervisums eingereicht werden und wenn das Besuchervisum für weniger als 30 Tage ausgestellt worden ist, spätestens 7 Arbeitstage vor Ablauf dieses Visums.

5. Kann ein Besuchervisum für Urlaubszwecke in ein anderes Visum / Aufenthaltszwecke in der Republik Südafrika geändert werden?
Nein. Obwohl das ‚Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), as amended‘ generell eine Änderung des Status oder der Bedingungen eines Visums erlaubt, darf eine Person, die sich mit einem Besuchervisum oder einem Visum für die medizinische Behandlung im Land aufhält, seinen/ihren Status in der Republik Südafrika nicht ändern, außer in expliziten Ausnahmefällen.

6. Was sind die Zoll- und Einfuhrbestimmungen für die Republik Südafrika?
Die aktuellen Zoll- und Einfuhrbestimmungen für die Republik Südafrika sind vom ‚Customs Officer‘ bei der Botschaft der Republik Südafrika in Brüssel zu erhalten (siehe http://www.southafrica.be/sars.htm).

7. Was sind die Bestimmungen für eine Eheschließung in der Republik Südafrika?
Allgemeine Informationen über eine Eheschließung in der Republik Südafrika finden Sie unter https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Marriage_in_SA.doc.
 
8. Kann die Kaution / Barhinterlegung eines Antragstellers zurückerstattet werden, wenn dieser vor dem 28. Februar 2015 aus der Republik Südafrika ausgereist ist?
Nein. Rückerstattungsanträge nach dem 28. Februar 2015 von Antragstellern, die  bereits vor diesem Datum aus der Republik Südafrika ausgereist sind, können nicht berücksichtigt werden und die Kaution / Barhinterlegung wird als nicht beansprucht dem Staat verfallen (siehe http://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Deposit_forfeiture.pdf).

9. Können Antragsgebühren, die versehentlich bezahlt wurden, zurückerstattet werden?
Ja. Antragsgebühren, die aus Versehen auf das Bankkonto der Botschaft in Berlin oder des Generalkonsulats in München eingezahlt wurden, werden zurückerstattet (siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Refund_incorrect_payments.doc).

10. Kann ein Einspruch gegen eine Erklärung zur unerwünschten Person bei einer südafrikanischen Auslandsvertretung erhoben werden?
Nein. Eine südafrikanische Auslandsvertretung z.B. die Botschaft in Berlin oder das Generalkonsulat in München, hat keine Befugnis, einen Einspruch gegen eine Erklärung zur unerwünschten Person, die einem ausländischen Staatsbürger bei der Ausreise aus der Republik Südafrika erteilt wurde, zu widerrufen oder zu bearbeiten. Ein solcher Einspruch muss direkt beim südafrikanischen Innenministerium (Department of Home Affairs) erhoben werden (siehe http://www.home-affairs.gov.za/index.php/immigration-services/overstay-appeals).

Wichtiger Hinweis

Konsularabteilung in der Botschaft in Berlin

Tiergartenstr. 18
10785 Berlin

Fax Konsularabteilung:
030 22073 202
Email Konsularabteilung:
berlin.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

Antragsteller, die in Bayern oder Baden-Württemberg wohnhaft sind, stellen bitte ihre Anträge und bezahlen die jeweiligen Gebühren beim südafrikanischen Generalkonsulat in München:

Südafrikanisches Generalkonsulat
Sendlinger-Tor-Platz 5
80336 München

Fax: 089 231 163 53
Email: munich.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

 
© Copyright by SA Embassy 2017 | Impressum | Kontakt | English