Tourismus, Konsular

25. August 2014

RSA issues Ebola travel bans

Thursday 21 August 2014 17:02 SABC

South Africans coming back home from Ebola-infected West African countries will be subjected to a health questionnaire. (SABC) Cabinet has issued an immediate travel ban for non-South Africans from countries affected by the Ebola virus outbreak, Health Minister Aaron Motsoaledi said on Thursday.

"A total travel ban for all non-citizens travelling from these high-risk countries (Guinea, Kenya and Sierra Leone), unless the travel is considered absolutely essential," he told reporters in Pretoria.

"For citizens of South Africa who wish to travel to these countries, they will be requested to delay their travel unless it is absolutely essential for them to travel."

He said South Africans coming from such West African countries would be subjected to a strict screening process, and medically examined if need be.
They would have to complete a comprehensive health questionnaire before being granted entry into the country. "If the comprehensive medical and the temperature screening reveal something, they will have to subject themselves to a complete medical examination."

For people from medium- and low-risk countries, including Nigeria, Kenya and Ethiopia, the normal surveillance processes would continue. Cabinet met in Cape Town on Wednesday. A South African man working in Liberia was tested for Ebola on his return from Monrovia over the weekend. Tests came out negative.

More than 1300 people have died of Ebola in countries like Liberia, Sierra Leone and Nigeria.

Download Travel Advisory

Download Ebola Fact Sheet

Download Ebola FAQ

Download Trade Ticker



Copyright by SA Embassy 2024