RSS | FAQ | Sitemap | English

Südafrikanische Botschaft
Tiergartenstr. 18, 10785 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-22073-0
Fax: +49-30-22073-190

Topnews, Tourismus, Konsular

02. Februar 2021

New Travel Restrictions Announced by the Federal Republic of Germany

In a move to prevent the introduction of the SARS-Cov2- variants, the German Government on the 30 January 2021 has imposed a general ban on travel and entry from countries with widespread occurrence of such virus variants including South Africa.

The ban is currently limited until 17.02.2021 but may be extended depending on the development of the pandemic. Transport companies e.g air carriers, may not transport any persons from these countries to Germany and entry for such travelers into Germany is not allowed under Art.14 (1)/ Art. 6 (1) lit e of the Schengen Borders Code.
Exceptions to the travel ban apply for:

  • German citizens
  • Members of the nuclear family of Germans who travel jointly with them. The nuclear family comprises spouses, legal partners, minor children and parents of minor children.
  • Citizens of the EU-countries and Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein or Iceland who have their permanent residence in Germany
  • Third country nationals with permanent and lawful residence in Germany
  • Transit passengers (for international transit only, not within the Schengen area)
  • Transport personnel
  • Health workers
  • Persons travelling on urgent humanitarian reasons
  • Persons traveling in official mission for the International Atomic Organization or United Nations or UN-organizations

Südafrika hat weltweit die meisten
offiziellen Sprachen (11).

© Copyright by SA Embassy 2021 | Impressum | Kontakt | English