The Country

South Africa Yearbook 2020/2021 available online

The South Africa Yearbook 2020/2021 can be found under the following link: 

South Africa at a Glance

Welcome to the southern tip of Africa. Here, two great oceans meet, warm weather lasts most of the year, and big game roams just beyond the city lights. This is where humanity began: our ancestors' traces are still evident in fossilised footprints 80 000 years old, and in the world's oldest rock paintings. Today, South Africa is the powerhouse of Africa, the most advanced, broad-based economy on the continent, with infrastructure to match any first-world country. You can drive on wide, tarred highways all 2 000 kilometres from Musina at the very top of the country to Cape Town at the bottom. Or join the millions of international travellers who disembark at our airports every year.



South Africa's nine Provinces

Constitutionally, South Africa encompasses nine provinces. These are:

Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, Limpopo, North West Province, Western Cape.

© Copyright by SA Embassy 2024