The Southern African Development Community (SADC)

The concept of a regional economic cooperation in southern Africa was first discussed at a meeting of the Frontline States foreign ministers in May 1979 in Gaberone. The meeting led to an international conference in Arusha, Tanzania two months later which brought together all independent countries, with the exception of the then Rhodesia, South West Africa and South Africa, and international donor agencies. The Arusha conference in turn led to the Lusaka Summit held in the Zambian capital in April 1980. After adopting the declaration, which was to become known as ‘Southern Africa: Towards Economic Liberation’, Sir Seretse Khama was elected the first chairman of the SADC.

Member States of SADC

The member States of the Southern African Development Community are:

Angola, Botswana, DR Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tansania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Aims of SADC

Translation will soon be available.

Topnews, Politics, SADC, Press, Economy

18. August 2020

40th Ordinary Summit of SADC Heads of State and Government

The 40th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was held virtually on the 17th August 2020. Read the full Communiqué by |+| read article

Politics, SADC, Topnews

21. August 2017

South Africa Assumes SADC Chair and Holds Successful Summit

South Africa has assumed the role of Chair of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) since August 2017, taking over from the Kingdom of Swaziland. The country successfully hosted the 37th...

|+| read article


03. August 2015


“The ministers approved the establishment of SACREEE and that the Republic of Namibia should host the centre,” said the Department of Energy. The Southern African Development Community (SADC) energy...

|+| read article

Embassy, Topnews, Press Review, SADC

25. October 2011

SADC Day in Germany

Berlin, 20 October 2011. On Thursday, 20 October 2011, eleven of the fourteen Southern Africa Developing Community (SADC) countries which are based in Berlin celebrated for the first time, “SADC...

|+| read article

Politics, SADC

24. March 2009

President Kgalema Motlanthe extends invitation to SADC to observe SA Elections on 22 April 2009

The Chairperson of SADC and President of South Africa, President Kgalema Motlanthe has today, Tuesday 24 March addressed a request to SADC to send a team of election observers from the region to...

|+| read article
Copyright by SA Embassy 2021