RSS | FAQ | Sitemap | Deutsch

South African Embassy, Berlin
Tiergartenstr. 18, 10785 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-22073-0
Fax: +49-30-22073-190

VISAS – SHORT STAY (NOT EXCEEDING 3 MONTHS)

What is a visa?

Every country has the sovereign right to decide who may or may not enter its territory. The purpose of a visa on the one hand is to ensure proper screening of applicants so that prohibited persons and undesirable persons are not admitted to the Republic of South Africa and on the other hand to facilitate the entry of approved applicants at South African ports of entry. Visas provide immigration officers with the necessary information to ensure that applicants are admitted for the correct purpose and period into the Republic of South Africa.

Possession of a visa does not guarantee the holder automatic admission into the Republic of South Africa. A visa only authorises the holder to proceed to the Republic to report to an immigration officer at a port of entry for the purpose of being examined as to his/her ability to comply with the (entry) requirements of the Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), as amended.

Who does not need a visa?

Citizens who are the holders of national passports (diplomatic, official and ordinary) or travel documents of certain foreign countries, territories and international organisations are exempt from the South African visa requirement for a specific period e.g. German citizens holding German passports for a period of ninety (90) days, and in respect of purposes for which a port of entry visa may be issued e.g. holiday, business meetings, and when in transit.

Does a German citizen need a visa for a holiday not longer than 90 days?

No. German citizens holding German passports are exempt from the South African visa requirement in respect of holiday purposes for a period of ninety (90) days (see https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/entry_requirements_german_citizens.doc). In the case of minor children under the age of 18 travelling to and from South Africa, additional requirements which are in effect since 1 June 2015 must be noted (see https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/admission_children.doc).

Who needs a visa?

Foreigners who are not passport / travel document holders who are exempt from the South African visa requirement are subject to visa control and must therefore apply for and be issued with port of entry visas at a South African mission abroad, before proceeding to the Republic of South Africa; such visas must be affixed in the applicants' passports before departing to the Republic of South Africa. Port of entry visas are not issued on arrival at South African ports of entry to foreigners who are subject to South African visa control – such foreigners arriving without visas shall be refused entry into the Republic of South Africa and placed on return flights.

May be issued for a period not exceeding three (3) months for the purpose of:

  1. holiday
  2. business meetings
  3. attending conferences, seminars or sports events
  4. a person, who is the spouse or dependent child of the holder of a valid visitor’s visa, study visa, treaty visa, business visa, medical treatment visa, relative’s visa, work visa, retired person visa or exchange visa
  5. studies not exceeding three (3) months
  6. medical treatment not exceeding three (3) months
  7. academic sabbaticals not exceeding three (3) months
  8. voluntary or charitable activities not exceeding three (3) months (applicants must be over the age of 18)
  9. research not exceeding three (3) months

What visa is needed to conduct short term or urgent work?

All foreigners who intend conducting short term or urgent work in the Republic of South Africa, including, but not limited, to service technicians, trainers / instructors and film crews, for a period not exceeding three (3) months must hold authorisation to conduct work in terms of section 11(2), which must be applied for and issued at a South African foreign mission, before travelling to the Republic of South Africa.

How much does a visa cost?

How long does it take to issue a visa?

Can a visa be issued for an internship?

No. The Immigration Act, as amended, makes no provisions for foreigners to undertake internships at companies and organisations in the Republic of South Africa. Therefore, visas may not be issued to such foreigners, including foreign students whose studies prescribe an internship (see https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Internship.doc).

Important notice

The Consular Section in the Embassy in Berlin

Tiergartenstr. 18
10785 Berlin

Fax Consular Section:
030 22073 202
Email Consular Section:
berlin.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

Residents of Bavaria and Baden-Wurttemberg must lodge applications and pay any applicable fees at the South African Consulate-General in Munich:

Südafrikanisches Generalkonsulat
Sendlinger-Tor-Platz 5
80336 Munich

Fax: 089 231 163 53
Email: munich.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

 
© Copyright by SA Embassy 2017 | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch

RSS | FAQ | Sitemap | English

Südafrikanische Botschaft
Tiergartenstr. 18, 10785 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-22073-0
Fax: +49-30-22073-190

VISAS – SHORT STAY (NOT EXCEEDING 3 MONTHS)

Was ist ein Visum?
Jedes Land hat das Hoheitsrecht zu entscheiden, wer das Gebiet betreten darf oder nicht. Der Zweck eines Visums ist die ordnungsgemäße Überprüfung von Antragstellern einerseits, so dass unerlaubte Personen und unerwünschte Personen in die Republik Südafrika nicht eingelassen werden, und andererseits genehmigten Antragstellern am südafrikanischen Grenzübergang die Einreise zu ermöglichen. Visa stellen notwendige Informationen an den Einreisebeamten bereit, um sicherzustellen, dass Antragsteller für den richtigen Zweck und Zeitraum in die Republik Südafrika eingelassen werden.

Der Besitz eines Visums garantiert dem Inhaber keine automatische Einreise in die Republik Südafrika. Ein Visum erlaubt dem Inhaber nur die Reise zur Republik Südafrika anzutreten und am Grenzübergang wird durch einen Einreisebeamten überprüft, ob er die (Einreise)bestimmungen des „Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), as amended“ erfüllt.

Wer braucht kein Visum?
Staatsbürger, die Inhaber diplomatischer, offizieller oder normaler Reisepässe oder Reisedokumente bestimmter Länder, Gebiete und internationalen Organisationen sind, sind für einen bestimmten Zeitraum von der südafrikanischen Visumpflicht befreit. Dies betrifft  z.B. deutsche Staatsbürger für einen Zeitraum von neunzig (90) Tagen für Aufenthaltszwecke, für die ein ‚Port of entry visa’ ausgestellt werden kann z.B. Urlaub, Geschäftstreffen und im Transit.

Braucht ein deutscher Staatsbürger ein Visum für einen Urlaub von nicht länger als 90 Tagen?
Nein. Deutsche Staatsbürger sind von der südafrikanischen Visumpflicht für Urlaubszwecke für einen Zeitraum von neunzig (90) Tagen befreit (siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/entry_requirements_german_citizens.doc). Für minderjährige Kinder unter 18 Jahren, die nach und aus Südafrika reisen, sind zusätzliche Bedingungen zu beachten, die seit dem 1. Juni 2015 in Kraft sind (siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/admission_children.doc).

Wer braucht ein Visum?
Ausländische Staatsbürger, die keine Pass- / Reisedokument Inhaber sind, die von der südafrikanischen Visumpflicht befreit sind, unterliegen der Visumpflicht und müssen daher bei einer südafrikanischen Auslandsvertretung ‚Port of entry visas’ beantragen. Diese werden ausgestellt, bevor die Reise zur Republik Südafrika angetreten wird und müssen in den Pässen der Antragsteller eingetragen werden, bevor sie nach Südafrika abreisen. ‚Port of entry visas’ werden nicht bei der Ankunft am südafrikanischen Grenzübergang ausländischen Staatsbürgern ausgestellt, die der südafrikanischen Visumpflicht unterliegen – solchen ausländischen Staatsbürgern, die ohne Visa ankommen, wird die Einreise in die Republik Südafrika verweigert und sie werden zurückgeschickt.

Kann für einen Zeitraum von nicht länger als drei (3) Monaten für folgende Zwecke ausgestellt werden:

  1. Urlaub
  2. Geschäftstreffen
  3. Teilnahme an Konferenzen, Seminaren oder Sportveranstaltungen
  4. einer Person, die der Ehegatte oder das unterhaltsberechtigte Kind des Inhabers eines gültigen visitor’s visa, study visa, treaty visa, business visa, medical treatment visa, relative’s visa, work visa, retired person visa oder exchange visa ist
  5. Studien nicht länger als drei (3) Monate
  6. medizinische Behandlung nicht länger als drei (3) Monate
  7. akademische Sabbaticals nicht länger als drei (3) Monate
  8. freiwillige oder gemeinnützige Tätigkeiten nicht länger als drei (3) Monaten (Reisende müssen über 18 Jahre alt sein)
  9. Forschung nicht länger als drei (3) Monate

Welches Visum ist erforderlich, um kurzfristige oder dringende Arbeit zu leisten?
Alle ausländischen Staatsbürger, die kurzfristige oder dringende Arbeit in der Republik Südafrika für einen Zeitraum von nicht länger als drei (3) Monaten durchführen, einschließlich, aber nicht ausschließlich beschränkt auf Servicetechniker / Monteure, Ausbilder und Filmcrews, müssen eine „Authorisation to conduct work in terms of section 11(2)’ besitzen, die bei einer südafrikanischen Auslandsvertretung beantragt und ausgestellt werden muss, bevor die Reise zur Republik Südafrika angetreten wird.

Wie viel kostet ein Visumantrag?

Wie lange dauert es, ein Visum zu erteilen?

Kann ein Visum für ein Praktikum ausgestellt werden?

Nein. Das ‚Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), as amended‘ erlaubt ausländischen Staatsbürger nicht, Praktika bei Unternehmen und Organisationen in der Republik Südafrika zu absolvieren. Daher können keine Visa für solche ausländische Staatsbürger, einschließlich ausländischer Studenten, deren Studien ein Praktikum vorschreiben, ausgestellt werden (siehe https://www.suedafrika.org/downloads/Internship.doc). 

Wichtiger Hinweis

Konsularabteilung in der Botschaft in Berlin

Tiergartenstr. 18
10785 Berlin

Fax Konsularabteilung:
030 22073 202
Email Konsularabteilung:
berlin.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

Antragsteller, die in Bayern oder Baden-Württemberg wohnhaft sind, stellen bitte ihre Anträge und bezahlen die jeweiligen Gebühren beim südafrikanischen Generalkonsulat in München:

Südafrikanisches Generalkonsulat
Sendlinger-Tor-Platz 5
80336 München

Fax: 089 231 163 53
Email: munich.consular(at)dirco.gov.za

 
© Copyright by SA Embassy 2017 | Impressum | Kontakt | English